The Truong Family

Home » life » 2013 New Year’s Challenges

2013 New Year’s Challenges

In years past when I was younger and more idealistic, I would try to be intentional about setting and fulfilling new year’s resolutions.  For the most part, I was able to accomplish, if not begin working towards, many of my goals in the course of the year.  As I get older (and hopefully wiser), I’ve come to realize that setting goals is more important than ever because life seems to go by faster, thus a greater sense of urgency to leave an impact and legacy in this world.

There is considerable evidence that suggests a strong correlation between expectations and achievements.  In other words, people usually end up where they expect or close to it.  In archery, if you’re aiming for the target, you’ll most likely hit it or get close to it.  Without a target, there’s nothing to focus your attention or energy.  As a result, you’re aimless.  In life living aimlessly is a result of not having goals or targets.

I haven’t had much time to think through what I’d like to focus on this coming year, but I got an email from a former friend and pastor who posted a set of “challenges” for his church for 2013.  I thought they were right on in terms of how I’d like to live or strive to live in this coming year, so I’ve adopted them for myself.  Here’s my list of targets or challenges for the various areas of my life for 2013:

  1. Spiritual
    • Read or listen to Bible for 10 minutes a day at least five times a week.
    • Read six Christian books.
    • Be still and silent at least 10 minutes a day.
  2. Professional
    • Publish two articles or book chapters.
    • Present at one national conference.
    • Attend leadership training.
  3. Financial
    • Use 40% of earnings to live.
    • Save 30% of earnings for retirement.
    • Give 30% of earnings to charity.
  4. Physical Health
    • Walk 30 minutes a day at least twice a week.
    • Maintain current weight of 142 pounds (+/- 3 lbs.).
    • Get to bed by 11pm
  5. Community
    • Share a meal with others (friends, colleagues, neighbors, etc.) at least once a week.
    • Continue with TDT monthly dinners and grow as a group.
    • Serve larger community via LifeLine and Gateway.
  6. Family
    • Take each of my kids out on a date at least once every three months.
    • Date my wife every Friday or as much as possible.
    • Prioritize family during weekends, holidays, and vacation.

May God help me make some of these ideas will become a reality.

Leave a Reply

